In a game that was back and forth from the opening tip, Lanett was able to prevail 54-40 over RC Hatch thanks to tournament MVP Anquaevious Pollard.

The game got a little chippy at points, including when Terrion Truitt picked up a technical foul early in the contest. Four players eventually fouled out of the game, including three from RC Hatch and Truitt.

The story in this one was Lanett out-rebounding the Bobcats by 20, despite the fact that they also turned the ball over more. The problem for RC Hatch was that they couldn’t turn those turnovers into points.

For Lanett, Pollard was one of two players with a double-double scoring 13 points with 11 rebounds en route to being named MVP. Emanuel Littles also had a double-double with 14 points and 15 rebounds, while Jalen Madden added 11 points.


RC Hatch was led by Tyler Rhone who had 12 points before fouling out. Also fouling out were Venantris Lipscomb and Byron Baskerville.

Despite RC Hatch being one of the winningest boy’s basketball programs out there, Lanett has now cemented their legacy as the team to beat each year, and will look to make it three in a row next year with practically every player back.