The Mr. Football awards were today and along with the highest honor in Alabama high school football, the Alabama Sports Writers Association awarded the top back and lineman of the year for each classification as well.

Standout running back La’Damian Webb of Beauregard won Mr. Football this year as a junior, and did so while breaking many state records throughout the season. He is second on the season rushing list finishing with 3,342 yards just behind Dale County’s Jamarius Henderson who rushed for 3,483 in 2014 when Kerryon Johnson won the award. Webb did break the record for most rushing touchdowns in a season with 49 touchdowns on the ground and broke the overall record with 53. Of course, Webb also won the 5A Back of the Year.

Webb led Beauregard to a state title this season over Wenonah in the Super 7, rushing 51 times for 359 yards and five touchdowns. He had over 1,300 yards in the playoffs alone with 22 touchdowns.

The ASWA announced that Webb was one of eight players who received first-place votes in a very close contest. Webb is the first junior to ever win the award.

Malik Cunningham of Park Crossing finished second, despite not winning the 6A Back of the Year award and had 132 points compared to Webb’s 147. Spanish Fort LB Thomas Johnston was third. Full results can be seen below.

Some of the other highlights of the event include JaTarvious Whitlow of LaFayette winning the 2A Back of the Year beating out last year’s winner Chadarius Townsend (Tanner) and a two-time finalist in RB Dylan Kilpatrick (Fyffe).

In Class 3A Piedmont cleaned up as QB Taylor Hayes won 3A Back of the Year for the second year in a row and OL Mason Langley won 3A Lineman of the Year, as he and other finalist DL Logan Beadles along with Hayes led Piedmont to a second straight state title this year.

Kadarius Toney won the Class 6A Back of the Year award but wasn’t available to accept it as he has already enrolled at the University of Florida. He beat out state champion QB Baniko Harley from Ramsay and Park Crossing standout QB Malik Cunningham.

Class 7A saw two of the state’s top recruits, who were just elevated to 5-star status by 247Sports, win their respective awards with Henry Ruggs III and LaBryan Ray winning Back and Lineman of the Year respectively.

The full results can be seen below:

Mr. Football Results (Top 12)

La’Damian Webb (Beauregard) – 147 (3)
Malik Cunningham (Park Crossing) – 132 (1)
Thomas Johnston (Spanish Fort) – 116 (2)
Kadarius Toney (Blount) – 113 (1)
LaBryan Ray (James Clemens) – 113 (3)
Terence Dunlap (Maplesville) – 109 (2)
Taylor Hayes (Piedmont) – 85 (3)
Henry Ruggs III (Lee-Montgomery) – 37
Baniko Harley (Ramsay) – 68
JaTarvious Whitlow (LaFayette) – 49 (1)
Jalyond Adams (Minor) – 44
Bubba Thompson (McGill-Toolen) – 38

Class 7A Back of the Year

WR Henry Ruggs III (Lee-Montgomery)
RB Garrett Morris (Auburn)
QB Bubba Thompson (McGill-Toolen)

Class 7A Lineman of the Year

DL LaBryan Ray (James Clemens)
OL Kendall Randolph (Bob Jones)
DL Christion Taylor (Hoover)

Class 6A Back of the Year

ATH Kadarius Toney (Blount)
QB Malik Cunningham (Park Crossing)
ATH Baniko Harley (Ramsay)

Class 6A Lineman of the Year

LB Thomas Johnston (Spanish Fort)
LB KJ Britt (Oxford)
OL Marcus “Tank” Jenkins (Park Crossing)

Class 5A Back of the Year

RB La’Damian Webb (Beauregard)
RB DeKarlos Billingsley (Scottsboro)
QB Bo Nix (Scottsboro)

Class 5A Lineman of the Year

DL Ryan Johnson (St. Paul’s)
DL DJ Smith (Beauregard)
LB Giovanni Williams (Wenonah)

Class 4A Back of the Year

ATH Reed Blakenship (West Limestone)
RB Michael Matthews (UMS-Wright)
DB Brady Sherrill (Haleyville)

Class 4A Lineman of the Year

LB Sterling James (St. James)
OL Brian Anderson (Montgomery-Catholic)
LB Riley Russell (Cherokee County)

Class 3A Back of the Year

QB Taylor Hayes (Piedmont)
RB Austin Tucker (Ohatchee)
ATH Troy Young (Mobile Christian)

Class 3A Lineman of the Year

OL Mason Langley (Piedmont)
DL Logan Beadles (Piedmont)
LB Tyler Olds (Montevallo)

Class 2A Back of the Year

ATH JaTarvious Whitlow (LaFayette)
RB Dilan Kilpatrick (Fyffe)
ATH Chadarius Townsend (Tanner)

Class 2A Lineman of the Year

OL Tyler Wilhelm (Fyffe)
LB Lee Davis (Samson)
DL Travon Mathis (Lanett)

Class 1A Back of the Year

RB Terence Dunlap (Maplesville)
RB Dax Benton (Hubbertville)
QB Jacob Free (Brantley)

Class 1A Lineman of the Year

OL Brandon Bates (Linden)
DL Devin March (Houston County)
LB DeVonte Poole (Linden)

AISA Back of the Year

Malik Lyons (Chambers Academy)
Weldon Aydelott (Marengo Academy)
Xaviar Coleman (Bessemer Academy)

AISA Lineman of the Year

Jakerrius Wyatt (Autauga Academy)
Trae Lee (Escambia Academy)
Aaron Scroggins (Bessemer Academy)