We now have less than a week until the football season officially kicks off with the Champions Challenge and more games on Thursday, August 18, and the first full Friday night the day after.

As we look forward to seeing all of the teams start their journey to Jordan-Hare Stadium for the Super 7, many individual players standout as some of the best to watch this upcoming season.

We got together and looked at the major players throughout the state of Alabama and compiled our 2016 Preseason All-State Team, made up of some of the most talented players in not only the state of Alabama, but the whole country.

Many have already committed to major colleges like Brian Robinson to Alabama and Austin Troxel to Auburn, but plenty have left their recruitment open and are looking forward to impressing coaches even more this upcoming season.

Here is the 2016 JoxPreps Preseason All-State Team:


Pos. Player School Commitment
QB Taylor Hayes Piedmont
RB Brian Robinson Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa Alabama
RB Larry Wooden Spain Park
WR Nico Collins Clay-Chalkville
WR Henry Ruggs III Lee-Montgomery
WR Marlon Williams McGill-Toolen Southern Cal
OL Austin Troxell Madison Academy Auburn
OL Tank Jenkins Park Crossing
OL Brian Anderson Montgomery Catholic North Carolina
OL Hunter Brannon Cullman Alabama
OL Jakari Robinson Munford
K Marvin Betancourt Russellville


Pos. Player School Commitment
DL LaBryan Ray James Clemens
DL Isaiah Sharp-Perry Leeds
DL Alfred Thomas Sidney Lanier
DL Ryan Johnson St. Paul’s
LB Thomas Johnston Spanish Fort
LB KJ Britt Oxford
LB Markail Benton Central-Phenix City Alabama
DB Kendarian Handy-Holly Jackson
DB J’Marick Woods Florence Michigan
DB Kyriq McDonald James Clemens Alabama
DB Karon Delince Central-Phenix City


Pos. Player School Commitment
ATH Kadarius Toney Blount Florida
ATH Chadarrius Townsend Tanner Alabama
ATH Will Ignont Buckhorn
ATH Malik Cunningham Park Crossing Louisville

Honorable Mention

QB: Daulton Hyatt (Etowah)
RB: Terence Dunlap (Maplesville), Damon Williams (Gadsden City)
WR: Tae Provens (Madison County), Noah Igbinoghene (Hewitt-Trussville)
OL: Kendall Randolph (Bob Jones), Tyler Harris (Luverne)
DL: Justin Thomas (Spanish Fort), Neil Farrell (Murphy)
LB: Tadarian Moultry (Jackson-Olin), Carlton Martial (McGill-Toolen)
DB: AJ Harris (Bob Jones), Jamar Richardson (Aliceville)
ATH: Alaric Williams (Southside-Gadsden), Malcolm Askew (McAdory)