Hoover struck first to go up 7-0 on their second drive of the game, and they would never relinquish the lead, winning their second straight state championship over McGill-Toolen 48-20.

In the first game of the week in Tuscaloosa, the Bucs showed off how improved they are on offense with talent coming all over the field. Whether it was first-year starter Jalen Parker, Auburn wide receiver commits George Pickens and Shedrick Jackson, or running back Larry McCammon – Hoover dominated the entire game and McGill-Toolen just couldn’t stop them.

The score at halftime was 34-6 and the game was essentially over at that point. McGill-Toolen

Jalen Parker was named Super 7 MVP, going 11/15 for 265 yards and four touchdowns split between star receivers Jackson and Pickens.

Larry McCammon went off early, rushing five times for 50 yards and a touchdown in the first quarter. He ended with 11 carries for 79 yards and a touchdown. Vonte Brackett added on to the rushing attack with five carries for 25 yards and a touchdown.

Jackson ended with six catches for 160 yards and two touchdowns. Pickens had two catches for 61 yards and both were for touchdowns.

Most 7A records for passing/receiving in the Super 7 fell in this game after the dominant performance through the air for Hoover. Granted, this is only the fourth year of 7A, but it was still an impressive performance.

For McGill-Toolen, Sheldon Layman was 20/32 for 210 yards and a late touchdown. Bryan Hill ran 18 times for only 46 yards. Chase Mahler scored the first points on a 24 and 28-yard field goal. Turner McLaughlin had four catches for 105 yards and one touchdown and Khalil Nettles had the other touchdown for McGill-Toolen, and he had 7 carries for 27 yards.

Hoover returns some talent next year, including George Pickens and Larry McCammon. Robby Ashford is the favorite to take over for Parker, who is a senior this year. Ashford was 3/5 for 7 yards in clean-up duty tonight.

This win also makes Josh Niblett the winning coach in the state in terms of state championships. Niblett earned his seventh overall state title, and sixth with Hoover. He won the 3A state title with Oneonta in 2003 before moving on to Oxford. It is his seventh title in eleven appearances in the Super 7. His overall coaching record is 194-48, going 52-10 in the playoffs. That number is even more impressive at Hoover, going 129-16 and 41-4 in the playoffs with six state titles.

Final Stat Leaders

Full stats


Jalen Parker (Hoover) – 11/15, 265 yards, 4 TD
Robbie Ashford (Hoover) – 3/5, 7 yards

Sheldon Layman (McGill-Toolen) – 20/32, 210 yards, 1 TD


Larry McCammon (Hoover) – 13 carries, 106 yards, 1 TD
Vonte Brackett (Hoover) – 10 carries, 59 yards, 1 TD
Jacquez Allen (Hoover) – 9 carries, 49 yards, 1 TD
Jalen Parker (Hoover) – 3 carries, 23 yards

Bryan Hill (McGill-Toolen) – 18 carries, 46 yards
Carlos Evans (McGill-Toolen) – 7 carries, 35 yards
Khalil Nettles (McGill-Toolen) – 7 carries, 27 yards, 1 TD
Sheldon Layman (McGill-Toolen – 4 carries, 8 yards


Shedrick Jackson (Hoover) – 6 catches, 160 yards, 2 TD
George Pickens (Hoover) – 2 catches, 61 yards, 2 TD
Zach Elam (Hoover) – 2 catches, 18 yards
Nick Davis (Hoover) – 2 catches, 5 yards

Turner McLaughlin (McGill-Toolen) – 4 catches, 105 yards, 1 TD
Carlos Evans (McGill-Toolen) – 4 catches, 32 yards
Bo Hightower (McGill-Toolen) – 3 catches, 36 yards
Maurice Jackson (McGill-Toolen) – 3 catches, 18 yards