Now that we are finished with the spring championships, it’s time to start looking toward the 2016 football season which is less than 100 days away. With that, we present our list of players to look out for next year for the Mr. Football award that goes to the best overall football player in the state.

Mr. Football has been awarded to some of the best players to ever come from this state, including: TJ Yeldon (Daphne), Julio Jones (Foley), Andre Smith (Huffman), Cadillac Williams (Etowah), David Palmer (Jackson-Olin) and so many more.

Mr. Football in Alabama has won by many positions, including offensive line, defensive line, and tight end. The last wide receiver to win the award was in 2007 with Julio Jones, but can Nico Collins of Clay-Chalkville pull it off this year and become the Cougars’ first winner?

Mr. Football winners currently playing in college all signed with Auburn out of high school as QB Jeremy Johnson (Carver-Montgomery), RB Roc Thomas (Oxford) and RB Kerryon Johnson (Madison Academy) have all won the award.

Last year’s winner, Spanish Fort QB Tyler Johnston, signed with UAB and will be one of the leading candidates for the starting quarterback job when the Blazers hit the field in 2017.

With that, we present the watch list for this year’s group of Mr. Football candidates. Will one of these be your winner, or will a dark horse come out of nowhere and lead his team to a stellar season?

2016 Mr. Football Watch List

(in alphabetical order)

Name Position Class School
Jalyn Armour-Davis CB JR St. Paul’s
Malcolm Askew ATH SR McAdory
Markail Benton LB SR Central-Phenix City
Nico Collins WR SR Clay-Chalkville
Malik Cunningham QB SR Park Crossing
Terence Dunlap RB SR Maplesville
Jacob Free QB SR Brantley
Daulton Hyatt QB SR Etowah
Noah Igbinoghene WR SR Hewitt-Trussville
Will Ignont LB SR Buckhorn
Marcus Jenkins OT JR Park Crossing
Ryan Johnson DE SR St. Paul’s
Thomas Johnston LB JR Spanish Fort
Myles Mason S JR Pleasant Grove
Tadarian Moultry LB SR Jackson-Olin
Kendall Randolph OT SR Bob Jones
LaBryan Ray DE SR James Clemens
Brian Robinson RB SR Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa
Justyn Ross WR JR Central-Phenix City
Henry Ruggs WR SR Lee-Montgomery
Kadarius Toney QB SR Blount
Chadarius Townsend ATH SR Tanner
Austin Troxel OT SR Madison Academy
Jack West QB JR Saraland
Alaric Williams RB SR Gadsden City
Marlon Williams WR SR McGill-Toolen